1 Department of Theoretical Mechanics 

Educational course of Theoretical Mechanics in Kharkiv Technological Institute (former name of National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnical Institute”) was read by world-known scientists: academicians Alexandr Lyapunov (from 1887 till 1893) and Vladimir Steklov (from 1887 till 1893). In 1925, the Department of Theoretical Mechanics was established at the Kharkov Institute of Technology. The first head of the newly created department was Professor Ivan Babakov, a well-known scientist in the field of oscillation theory. Later on, the department was headed by Professor Victor Groza (from 1962 till 1977), Professor Vladimir Karaban (from 1977 till 1995), Professor Oleg Morachkovsky (from 1995 till 2020) and Professor Vladimir Adashevsky (2020).


Main courses for bachelors: Theoretical Mechanics, Technical and Applied Mechanics, Biomechanics.